Connect with us

Soccer

Where to watch South Korea vs Malaysia live stream, TV channel, lineups, prediction for Asian Cup match


South Korea are edging towards a place in the AFC Asian Cup Round of 16 ahead of facing Malaysia on January 25.

The picture in Group E is wide open ahead of the final round of group games with South Korea picking up four points from two games so far at the tournament.

Anything other than defeat in this tie would seal a place in the knockouts for South Korea as Jordan and Bahrain battle for the other automatic qualification place.

The Sporting News looks at the key details ahead of this game, including how to watch it across the world, kickoff times and the latest lineup news.

What time does South Korea vs Malaysia kick off?

This AFC Asian Cup clash takes place at the Al-Janoub Stadium in Al-Wakrah, Qatar and kicks off on Thursday, January 25 at 2:30 p.m. local time.

Here’s how that time translates across some of the major territories:

  Date Kickoff time
USA Thu, Jan. 25 6:30 a.m. ET
Canada Thu, Jan. 25 6:30 a.m. ET
UK Thu, Jan. 25 11:30 a.m. GMT
Australia Thu, Jan. 25 10:30 p.m. AEDT
India Thu, Jan. 25 5:00 p.m. IST

South Korea vs Malaysia live stream, TV channel

Here’s how to watch this AFC Asian Cup match across selected areas of the world’s major regions:


USA: This match will be available via Paramount+ and CBS Sports Golazo.

Australia: Paramount+ will provide streaming services for the tournament.

UK: AFC Asian Cup matches can be streamed live in the UK via TrillerTV.

India: Streaming service FanCode is the place to go for AFC Asian Cup matches.

MORE: Asian Cup 2023: Fixtures, results, schedule, bracket for Qatar 2024 AFC tournament

South Korea vs Malaysia lineups, team news

South Korea look set to revert to the starting XI which won 3-1 against Bahrain in their opening match of the tournament albeit without veteran Kim Seung-gyu back in goal after he suffered a torn ACL.

South Korea (4-4-2, right to left): Cho (GK) — Seol, Jeong, Kim, K. Lee — K.I. Lee, Park, Hwang, J. Lee — Son, Cho.

South Korea subs (9): TBC

Malaysia have lost both games at the competition so far and they are yet to score a goal in Qatar. However, a narrow 1-0 loss to Bahrain will be a slight confidence boost.

Malaysia (5-4-1 right to left): Hazmi (GK) — Davies, Saad, Cools, Dominic, Corin-Ong — Hanapi, Abba, Wilkin, Abdul Halim — Josue.

Malaysia subs (9): TBC

South Korea vs Malaysia prediction

South Korea needed a late goal to rescue a 2-2 draw against Jordan in their last game and they should have little issue getting the job done against a poor Malaysia side.

A spot in the knockouts will mean an extended run in the tournament for captain Son Heung-min despite Tottenham’s busy domestic schedule.

Prediction: South Korea 3-0 Malaysia

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Soccer