Connect with us

Other Sports

NASCAR lineup at Phoenix: Starting order, pole for United Rentals Work United 500 based on qualifying results

The Valley of the Sun has played host to some of the most dramatic races in NASCAR Cup Series history.

The one-mile Phoenix Raceway was the site of Alan Kulwicki’s first “Polish Victory Lap” and the place where Clint Bowyer and Jeff Gordon (and their respective pit crews) butted heads after a Chase wreck. Ryan Newman knocked rising star Kyle Larson out to secure a berth in the Championship 4 there, and Dale Earnhardt Jr. nabbed his last Cup Series victory on the oval. It’s also the track where the Cup Series title is decided every year now.

Phoenix can be a challenge to navigate as the track temperatures rise under a baking sun. This week’s race, the United Rentals Work United 500, gives teams a preview of what to come expect at the end of the playoffs. And although the stakes aren’t nearly as high this time around, a strong showing can certainly boost confidence for later in the year when the spotlight is really on.

MORE: Watch the United Rentals Work United 500 live with fuboTV (free trial)

The Sporting News fills you in on the results of Saturday’s qualifying, as well as the starting lineup for Sunday’s race.

Who won the pole for the United Rentals Work United 500 in 2023?

Kyle Larson took the pole in Saturday’s qualifying with a lap time of 27.642 seconds (129.726 mph average speed). That’s his 15th career pole and his second at Phoenix Raceway.

United Rentals Work United starting lineup 2023

Larson and Denny Hamlin will be on the front row for Sunday’s race, based on the results of Saturday’s qualifying session.

As was the case last week, Josh Berry will drive the Hendrick Motorsports No. 9 car. Berry is filling in for Chase Elliott, who is recovering from surgery to repair a leg injury he suffered in a snowboarding accident in Colorado.

Starting pos. Driver Car No. Team
1. Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
2. Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
3. William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
4. Brad Keselowski 6 RFK Racing
5. Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
6. Ross Chastain 1 Trackhouse Racing
7. Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
8. Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
9. Kyle Busch 8 Richard Childress Racing
10. Erik Jones 43 Legacy Motor Club
11. Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing
12. Tyler Reddick 45 23XI Racing
13. Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
14. Ty Gibbs 54 Joe Gibbs Racing
15. Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
16. Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
17. Josh Berry 9 Hendrick Motorsports
18. Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
19. Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
20. Austin Cindric 2 Team Penske
21. Chris Buescher 17 RFK Racing
22. AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
24. Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
25. Ryan Preece 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
26. Justin Haley 31 Kaulig Racing
27. Harrison Burton 21 Wood Brothers Racing
28. Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
29. Todd Gilliland 15 Rick Ware Racing
30. Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
31. Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
32. Noah Gragson 42 Legacy Motor Club
33. BJ McLeod 78 Live Fast Motorsports
34. Zane Smith 38 Front Row Motorsports
35. Ty Dillon 77 Spire Motorsports
36. Cody Ware 51 Rick Ware Racing

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement here

Must See

More in Other Sports