Connect with us


NFL dynasty rankings: How Chiefs would compare to legendary teams with third Super Bowl victory | Sporting News

Are the Kansas City Chiefs a dynasty now? 

Kansas City faces the San Francisco 49ers in Super Bowl 58 at Allegiant Stadium on Sunday. The Chiefs have the opportunity to win a third Super Bowl in four seasons, and if they accomplish that, they would be part of an exclusive fraternity. 

Only two NFL franchises have won three Super Bowls in four seasons: the Dallas Cowboys (1992-93, 1995) and the New England Patriots (2001, 2003-04). If the Chiefs win a third Super Bowl in four years  — and, honestly, even if they don’t – it’s OK to rank them among the greatest dynasties in NFL history. 

They certainly will be in the conversation given this is their fourth Super Bowl appearance in five seasons. Coach Andy Reid and quarterback Patrick Mahomes are among the main reasons that make the dynasty possible. 

Where would the Chiefs rank with a victory? We have a good idea. 

MORE: 49ers’ Super Bowl history

Are the Chiefs an NFL dynasty? 

There are no defined qualifications, but there are five franchises that are generally considered NFL dynasties in the Super Bowl era. 

All five of those dynasties listed won at least three Super Bowls (or NFL championships) and won back-to-back championships at some point. 

The Green Bay Packers won the first two Super Bowls under Vince Lombardi after winning three NFL championships before the Super Bowl era. 

The Pittsburgh Steelers won four Super Bowls in six years in the 1970s. The San Francisco 49ers won five Super Bowls from 1981 to 1994, and the Cowboys won three Super Bowls in the 1990s. 

New England, of course, won six Super Bowls in a long run that extended for most of the early 21st century. Those are the franchises the Chiefs would be compared to if they win Super Bowl 58 against the 49ers. 

How many teams have won back-to-back Super Bowls? 

The Chiefs are trying to become the ninth team (and eighth franchise) to win back-to-back Super Bowls. The Patriots are the last team to win back-to-back Super Bowl titles. 

New England beat Carolina 32-29 in Super Bowl 38 before knocking off Philadelphia 24-21 in Super Bowl 39. 

Teams that won back-to-back Super Bowls

Green Bay 1, 2
Miami 7,8
Pittsburgh 9, 10
Pittsburgh 13,14
San Francisco 23, 24
Dallas 27, 28
Denver 32, 33
New England 38, 39

The Chiefs failed in their last attempt to win back-to-back Super Bowls. Kansas City beat San Francisco 31-20 in Super Bowl 54 before losing 31-9 to Tampa Bay in Super Bowl 55. 

Ranking NFL’s greatest dynasties 

Here is a look at the five greatest NFL dynasties of all time. That list must start with the New England Patriots:  

1. New England Patriots (2001-2019) 

Super Bowls wins: 6 (36, 38, 39, 49, 51, 53) 

Record: 232-73 (.761 winning percentage)

Bill Belichick and Tom Brady were the centerpieces of a franchise that dominated the NFL in unprecedented fashion for two decades. New England reached the AFC championship game in 13 of 19 seasons, and Brady’s rivalry with Peyton Manning stretched from Indianapolis to Denver. There was controversy with Spygate and Deflategate, but this dynasty ran for so long that you could almost divide it into two acts. The teams that won Super Bowl 36, 38, and 39 were built on defense, boasting Hall of Famers such as Richard Seymour and Ty Law. Brady and tight end Rob Gronkowski became the focal point for the teams that won Super Bowl 49, 51, and 53. It will be difficult for any franchise to replicate this success. 

2. San Francisco 49ers (1981-1994)

Super Bowl wins: 5 (16, 19, 23, 24, 29) 

Record: 159-56-1 (.736)

Bill Walsh won four Super Bowls, and George Seifert tacked on another one in the predecessor to the Patriots’ dynasty. Hall-of-Fame quarterbacks Joe Montana and Steve Young brought the West Coast offense to life, and Jerry Rice is arguably the greatest football player ever. The 1980s NFC was loaded with physical defenses in New York, Washington, and Chicago. San Francisco won 10 or more games every year from 1981-1998, with the exception of the strike-shortened 1982 season. The Niners were always in the conversation. 

3. Pittsburgh Steelers (1972-79)

Super Bowl wins: 4 (9, 10, 12, 13) 

Record: 67-20-1 (.761)

Chuck Noll guided the “Steel Curtain” with a defense that allowed just 13.6 points per game in those eight seasons. A total of 10 players on these Pittsburgh teams are in the Hall of Fame. That included Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, Lynn Swann, John Stallworth, and Mike Webster on offense. The defense featured “Mean” Joe Greene, Jack Lambert, Jack Ham, Mel Blount, and Donnie Shell. Pittsburgh won the AFC Central in seven of eight seasons, and no team since has won four Super Bowls in six years. 

4. Green Bay Packers (1960-67)

Super Bowl wins: 2 (1, 2) 

Record: 74-20-4 (.755)

Green Bay also won three NFL championships under Vince Lombardi in 1961, 1962, and 1965, which gave the franchise five championships in seven seasons. When you count the 1965 NFL championship, Green Bay is the last team to three-peat in NFL history. The Packers lost the NFL championship to Philadelphia in 1960. Green Bay never lost another playoff game under Lombardi after that, finishing 9-1. QB Bart Starr led a strong supporting cast of Hall of Famers in the trenches on both sides of the football. The “Titletown” origin story – which was immortalized with the “Ice Bowl” victory against Dallas –  was every bit as dominant as it sounds. 

5. Dallas Cowboys (1992-96) 

Super Bowl wins: 3 (27, 28, 30)  

Record: 59-21 (.737)

The Cowboys were a cultural phenomenon in the 1990s with owner Jerry Jones and coaches Jimmy Johnson and Barry Switzer. Dallas played in four straight NFC championship games from 1992-95 in legendary battles with the 49ers and Packers. The offense featured four Hall of Famers in Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin, and Larry Allen, who anchored arguably the greatest offensive line of all time. Charles Haley and Deion Sanders were key pieces on the defense. This run ended abruptly in the 1990s, but Jones and Johnson built this dynasty quickly after a 1-15 campaign in 1989. The Cowboys have not been back to the Super Bowl since. 

Where Chiefs fit in NFL dynasty rankings 

Kansas City has two Super Bowl wins and a 63-20 record the past five seasons, good for a .759 winning percentage. That’s comparable to all of the dynasties listed. With two Super Bowl victories, the Chiefs are comparable to the Miami Dolphins of the 1970s. Miami lost Super Bowl 6 before winning Super Bowl 8 and Super Bowl 9. The Dolphins did not have a fourth Super Bowl appearance, however.  With a win against the 49ers, Kansas City likely would move into that fifth spot ahead of the Dallas Cowboys given the extra Super Bowl appearance and the fact Mahomes is just 28.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Football