Connect with us

Soccer

Lionel Messi latest injury updates: Will Inter Miami star play vs Vissel Kobe in Japan?

Lionel Messi and Inter Miami were booed by fans in Hong Kong as the Argentine international sat out of Sunday’s game due to injury.

Messi was present but sat on the bench throughout the 90 minutes as his side beat Hong Kong All-Stars at Hong Kong Stadium. This came just one day after he trained in front of a sell-out crowd. 

Inter coach Tata Martino addressed the issue in a post-match press conference: “We understand a lot of fans are very disappointed and we ask for their forgiveness.” 

The Sporting News takes a look at Messi’s injury and when he’ll be back on the field. 

MORE: Lionel Messi vs Cristiano Ronaldo all-time stats

Lionel Messi injury updates 

Messi sustained a hip adductor injury against Al Hilal, during the first of a two-game series in Saudi Arabia last week.

Despite an MRI scan revealing no significant injury, Messi said there was ongoing discomfort. He described the injury as an unfortunate occurrence and shared optimism about the possibility of returning to play in Hong Kong if given the chance.

“I’m a little tired from this whole tour, [I have] a desire to finish up the last game and to return home,” he said in Tokyo after the Hong Kong incident. 

Will Messi play in Japan vs Vissel Kobe?

Messi and his Inter Miami side will face J1 League champions Vissel Kobe on Wednesday.

The 36-year-old shared an update on his fitness and “hopes” he can play a part in the game this week.

“The truth is that I feel very good compared to a few days ago and depending on how that [training] goes, and if I’m honest, I still don’t know if I will be able to or not, but I feel much better and I really want to be able to do it,” Messi said. 

Andres Iniesta, Messi’s former teammate at Barcelona, spent the final five seasons of his career playing for Kobe. Unfortunately, he retired last May and won’t be involved in the friendly. 

Inter Miami next match in 2024 season

  • Date: Wednesday, February 25, 2024
  • Time (ET): 8 p.m.
  • Competition: Major League Soccer (Matchweek 1)
  • Match: Inter Miami vs. Real Salt Lake (DRV PNK Stadium — Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
  • TV (USA): —
  • Streaming (Global): MLS Season Pass (Apple TV+)

Inter Miami’s first competitive fixture of the 2024 season is the club’s MLS opener, as they host Real Salt Lake on Wednesday, February 21.

They will have three league fixtures before they open their 2024 CONCACAF Champions Cup schedule, set for their Round of 16 first leg against either Nashville SC (USA) or Moca (Dominican Republic). It will be a two-legged matchup, with the first leg on the road.

Inter Miami full MLS fixture list for 2024 season

Inter Miami will kick off the 2024 MLS season against Real Salt Lake on February 21, 2024. Their regular-season campaign will conclude on Decision Day on October 19, when they face New England Revolution.

Date Opponent Location
Weds, Feb. 21 Real Salt Lake DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sun, Feb. 25 LA Galaxy Dignity Health Sports Park (Carson, CA)
Sat, March 2 Orlando City DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sun, March 10 Montreal DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, March 16 D.C. United Audi Field (Washington, DC)
Sat, March 23 NY Red Bulls Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
Sat, March 30 NYCFC DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, April 6 Colorado Rapids DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, April 13 Sporting KC Children’s Mercy Park (Kansas City, KS)
Sat, April 20 Nashville SC DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, April 27 New England Revolution Gillette Stadium (Foxborough, MA)
Sat, May 4 NY Red Bulls DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, May 11 Montreal Stade Saputo (Montreal, Canada)
Wed, May 15 Orlando City Exploria Stadium (Orlando, FL)
Sat, May 18 D.C. United DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, May 25 Vancouver Whitecaps BC Place (Vancouver, Canada)
Wed, May 29 Atlanta United DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, June 1 St. Louis City DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, June 15 Philadelphia Union Subaru Park (Chester, PA)
Wed, June 19 Columbus Crew DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, June 29 Nashville SC GEODIS Park (Nashville, TN)
Wed, July 3 Charlotte FC Bank of America Stadium (Charlotte, NC)
Sat, July 6 FC Cincinnati TQL Stadium (Cincinnati, OH)
Wed, July 17 Toronto DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, July 20 Chicago Fire DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, Aug. 24 FC Cincinnati DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Sat, Aug. 31 Chicago Fire Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)
Sat, Sep. 14 Philadelphia Union DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Wed, Sep. 18 Atlanta United Mercedes-Benz Stadium (Atlanta, GA)
Sat, Sep. 21 NYCFC Yankee Stadium (New York City, NY)
Sat, Sep. 28 Charlotte FC DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)
Wed, Oct. 2 Columbus Crew Lower.com Field (Columbus, OH)
Sat, Oct. 5 Toronto BMO Field (Toronto, Canada)
Sat, Oct. 19 New England Revolution DRV PNK Stadium (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Soccer