Connect with us


World Juniors Directorate Awards: List of all the previous winners of Best Forward, Defenseman and Goalie

The World Juniors has seen a number of historical performances. From Peter Forsberg’s historic run with Sweden in 1993 to Jordan Eberle’s heroics in 2010, there has been no shortage of sensational showings. 

The IIHF rewards those who performed at the highest level at their tournament with the IIHF Directorate Awards. There is one for Best Forward, Best Defenseman and Best Goalie. 

At the most recent tournament, Canada’s Mason McTavish won Best Forward, in addition to being named tournament MVP, as he helped Canada to win gold. Finland’s Kasper Puutio was voted Best Defenseman while Sweden’s Jesper Wallstedt earned Best Goalie honors, as each player led their teams to silver and bronze medals, respectively. 

MORE: 2023 World Juniors schedule, standings, results

Here is a look at all the past winners of the IIHF Directorate Awards. 

What are the IIHF World Junior Championship Directorate awards?

At the conclusion of each tournament, the IIHF hands out three awards — Best Forward, Best Defenseman and Best Goalie. 

The Directorate of the IIHF selects the winners of the three honors. They have been handed out every year since the IIHF took over the tournament in 1977. 

Any player from any team is up for the award, no matter where the country finishes in the tournament. 

Who has won Best Forward, Best Defenseman and Best Goalie at the World Juniors?

The honors have been handed out every year since 1977, but there are only two players ever to win honors multiple times. 

Viacheslav Fetisov earned the award for Best Defenseman in both 1977 and 1978 playing for the Soviet Union. Vladimir Krutov followed that by earning the award for Best Forward in 1979 and 1980, also playing for the Soviet Union. 

MORE: Top 10 NHL prospects at 2023 World Juniors

Here is the list of every winner of all three honors. 

Year Best Forward Best Defenseman Best Goalie
2022 Mason McTavish (Canada) Kasper Puutio (Finland) Jesper Wallstedt (Sweden)
2021 Tim Stutzle (Germany) Topi Niemela (Finland) Devon Levi (Canada)
2020 Alexis Lafreniere (Canada) Rasmus Sandin (Sweden) Joel Hofer (Canada)
2019 Ryan Poehling (USA) Alexander Romanov (Russia) Pyotr Kochetkov (Russia)
2018 Casey Mittelstadt (USA) Rasmus Dahlin (Sweden) Filip Gustavsson (Sweden)
2017 Kirill Kaprizov (Russia) Thomas Chabot (Canada) Felix Sandstrom (Sweden)
2016 Jesse Puljujarvi (Finland) Zach Werenski (USA) Linus Soderstrom (Sweden)
2015 Max Domi (Canada) Vladislav Gavrikov (Russia) Denis Godla (Slovakia)
2014 Filip Forsberg (Sweden) Rasmus Ristolainen (Finland) Oscar Dansk (Sweden)
2013 Ryan Nugent-Hopkins (Canada) Jacob Trouba (USA) John Gibson (USA)
2012 Evgeni Kuznetsov (Russia) Brandon Gormley (Canada) Petr Mrazek (Czech Republic)
2011 Brayden Schenn (Canada) Ryan Ellis (Canada) Jack Campbell (USA)
2010 Jordan Eberle (Canada) Alex Pietrangelo (Canada) Benjamin Conz (Switzerland)
2009 John Tavares (Canada) Erik Karlsson (Sweden) Jacob Markstrom (Sweden)
2008 Viktor Tikhonov (Russia) Drew Doughty (Canada) Steve Mason (Canada)
2007 Alexei Cherepanov (Russia) Erik Johnson (USA) Carey Price (Canada)
2006 Evgeni Malkin (Russia) Marc Staal (Canada) Tuukka Rask (Finland)
2005 Alex Ovechkin (Russia) Dion Phaneuf (Canada) Marek Schwarz (Czech Republic)
2004 Zach Parise (USA) Sami Lepisto (Finland) Al Montoya (USA)
2003 Igor Grigorenko (Russia) Joni Pitkanen (Finland) Marc-Andre Fleury (Canada)
2002 Mike Cammalleri (Canada) Igor Knyazev (Russia) Kari Lehtonen (Finland)
2001 Pavel Brendl (Czech Republic) Rostislav Klesla (Czech Republic) Tomas Duba (Czech Republic)
2000 Milan Kraft (Czech Republic) Alex Riazantsev (Russia) Rick DiPietro (USA)
1999 Maxim Afinogenov (Russia) Vitali Vishnevskiy (Russia) Roberto Luongo (Canada)
1998 Olli Jokinen (Finland) Pavel Skrbek (Czech Republic) David Aebischer (Switzerland)
1997 Alexei Morozov (Russia) Joe Corvo (USA) Marc Denis (Canada)
1996 Jarome Iginla (Canada) Mattias Ohlund (Sweden) Jose Theodore (Canada)
1995 Marty Murray (Canada) Bryan McCabe (Canada) Yevgeni Tarasov (Russia)
1994 Niklas Sundstrom (Sweden) Kenny Jonsson (Sweden) Jamie Storr (Canada)
1993 Peter Forsberg (Sweden) Janne Gronvall (Finland) Manny Legace (Canada)
1992 Michael Nylander (Sweden) Darius Kasparaitis (CIS) Mike Dunham (USA)
1991 Eric Lindros (Canada) Jiri Slegr (Czechoslovakia) Pauli Jaks (Switzerland)
1990 Robert Reichel (Czechoslovakia) Alexander Godynyuk (Soviet Union) Stephane Fiset (Canada)
1989 Pavel Bure (Soviet Union) Ricard Persson (Sweden) Alexei Ivashkin (Soviet Union)
1988 Alexander Mogilny (Soviet Union) Teppo Numminen (Finland) Jimmy Waite (Canada)
1987 Robert Kron (Czechoslovakia) Calle Johansson (Sweden) Markus Ketterer (Finland)
1986 Jim Sandlak (Canada) Mikhail Tatarinov (Soviet Union) Evgeny Belosheikin (Soviet Union)
1985 Michal Pivonka (Czechoslovakia) Vesa Salo (Finland) Craig Binnington (Canada)
1984 Raimo Helminen (Finland) Alexei Gusarov (Soviet Union) Alan Perry (USA)
1983 Tomas Sandstrom (Sweden) Ilya Byakin (Soviet Union) Dominik Hasek (Czechoslovakia)
1982 Petri Skriko (Finland) Gord Kluzak (Canada) Mike Moffat (Canada)
1981 Patrik Sundstrom (Sweden) Miloslav Horava (Czechoslovakia) Lars Eriksson (Sweden)
1980 Vladimir Krutov (Soviet Union) Reijo Ruotsalainen (Finland) Jari Paavola (Finland)
1979 Vladimir Krutov (Soviet Union) Alexei Kasatonov (Soviet Union) Pelle Lindbergh (Sweden)
1978 Wayne Gretzky (Canada) Viacheslav Fetisov (Soviet Union) Alexander Tyznych (Soviet Union)
1977 Dale McCourt (Canada) Viacheslav Fetisov (Soviet Union) Jan Hrabak (Czechoslovakia)

How to watch 2023 World Juniors games on TV, live stream

  • ​TV channel (Canada): TSN
  • Live stream (Canada):, TSN app
  • TV channel (U.S.): NHL Network
  • Live stream (U.S.): fuboTV 

TSN and the NHL Network will once again be home to all of the action for the 2023 World Juniors.

Canadian viewers can watch the competition on TSN or can stream the games through or on the TSN app. 

The American audience can view the games live on TV on the NHL Network, or can stream them through fuboTV. 

MORE: Watch the 2023 World Juniors live with fuboTV (free trial, U.S. only)

Where is the 2023 World Juniors?

  • Location: Halifax N.S./Moncton, N.B.
  • Venue: Scotiabank Centre/Avenir Centre

The World Juniors will once again be split between two host cities, as the tournament will be held in Halifax, Nova Scotia and Moncton, New Brunswick.  

The games in Halifax will be played at the Scotiabank Centre, the home of the QMJHL’s Halifax Mooseheads. Any of the contests in Moncton will be played at the Avenir Centre, where the QMJHL’s Moncton Wildcats call home. 

This will be the second time Halifax is a host city for the World Juniors. Previously, the 2003 World Juniors were split between Halifax and Sydney, N.S. Moncton has never hosted the World Juniors before. 

The 2023 tournament was originally planned to be held in Russia, with Novosibirsk and Omsk as the two host cities. However, due to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, their rights were pulled by the IIHF.  

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement here

Must See

More in Hockey