Connect with us


Have Bayer Leverkusen ever won the Bundesliga? Record in German league as Xabi Alonso bids for glory

Xabi Alonso has Bayer Leverkusen flying at the top of the Bundesliga and has set records along the way, but can he lead them over the line with Bayern Munich hunting them down?

The Bundesliga is a league that has been dominated by the Bavarians in the past decade: they have won 11 league titles in a row, since Jurgen Klopp’s Borussia Dortmund claimed back-to-back championships in 2011 and 2012.

Alonso’s Leverkusen have dropped points just four times across 19 matches and are the only unbeaten team left in any of Europe’s top five leagues this season. Their form has led to speculation that Liverpool could attempt to make the Spanish coach their next manager, with Jurgen Klopp stepping down at the end of the season.

The Sporting News headed to Germany back in November to dive inside the fascinating work of Alonso and how he has propelled Leverkusen to the top of German football, despite being just 42 years of age. You can read here what the man himself has had to say on his work in Germany.

Here, we look at Leverkusen’s record in the Bundesliga and whether they have got their hands on the title before.

MORE: The top contenders to succeed Jurgen Klopp at Liverpool

Have Bayer Leverkusen ever won the Bundesliga?

Bayer Leverkusen have never won the Bundesliga but have finished as runners-up five times, which is the most of any club never to have won the title. They last finished second back in 2010/11.

The club have gone 31 years without winning a trophy, their last being the DFB-Pokal in 1992-93, when they defeated Hertha BSC II 1-0 in the final.

However, Alonso may have something to say about that as he has the side running the show in Germany this season, while they are also in the quarterfinals of Germany’s domestic cup and in the knockout phase of the UEFA Europa League, having won all six of their group games.

Leverkusen won that tournament back in 1988, when it was still in the old format of the UEFA Cup. They also fell short at the final hurdle in the 2001/02 Champions League when they lost 2-1 to Real Madrid in the final in Glasgow.

Full list of Bundesliga champions

Bayern Munich are the kings of the Bundesliga and are on a record run of 11 consecutive titles with their latest triumph coming on the final day of the 2022/23 season.

Season Champions Runners-up
1963/64 FC Koln Meidericher SV
1964/65 Werder Bremen FC Koln
1965/66 TSV 1860 Munich Borussia Dortmund
1966/67 Eintracht Braunschweig TSV 1860 Munich
1967/68 FC Nurnberg Werder Bremen
1968/69 Bayern Munich Alemannia Aachen
1969/70 Borussia Monchengladbach Bayern Munich
1970/71 Borussia Monchengladbach Bayern Munich
1971/72 Bayern Munich Schalke 04
1972/73 Bayern Munich FC Koln
1973/74 Bayern Munich Borussia Monchengladbach
1974/75 Borussia Monchengladbach Hertha BSC
1975/76 Borussia Monchengladbach Hamburger SV
1976/77 Borussia Monchengladbach Schalke 04
1977/78 FC Koln Borussia Monchengladbach
1978/79 Hamburger SV VfB Stuttgart
1979/80 Bayern Munich Hamburger SV
1980/81 Bayern Munich Hamburger SV
1981/82 Hamburger SV FC Koln
1982/83 Hamburger SV Werder Bremen
1983/84 VfB Stuttgart Hamburger SV
1984/85 Bayern Munich Werder Bremen
1985/86 Bayern Munich Werder Bremen
1986/87 Bayern Munich Hamburger SV
1987/88 Werder Bremen Bayern Munich
1988/89 Bayern Munich FC Koln
1989/90 Bayern Munich FC Koln
1990/91 FC Kaiserslautern Bayern Munich
1991/92 Vfb Stuttgart Borussia Dortmund
1992/93 Werder Bremen Bayern Munich
1993/94 Bayern Munich FC Kaiserslautern
1994/95 Borussia Dortmund Werder Bremen
1995/96 Borussia Dortmund Bayern Munich
1996/97 Bayern Munich Bayer Leverkusen
1997/98 FC Kaiserslautern Bayern Munich
1998/99 Bayern Munich Bayer Leverkusen
1999/00 Bayern Munich Bayer Leverkusen
2000/01 Bayern Munich Schalke 04
2001/02 Borussia Dortmund Bayer Leverkusen
2002/03 Bayern Munich VfB Stuttgart
2003/04 Werder Bremen Bayern Munich
2004/05 Bayern Munich Schalke 04
2005/06 Bayern Munich Werder Bremen
2006/07 VfB Stuttgart Schalke 04
2007/08 Bayern Munich Werder Bremen
2008/09 VfL Wolfsburg Bayern Munich
2009/10 Bayern Munich Schalke 04
2010/11 Borussia Dortmund Bayer Leverkusen
2011/12 Borussia Dortmund Bayern Munich
2012/13 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2013/14 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2014/15 Bayern Munich VfL Wolfsburg
2015/16 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2016/17 Bayern Munich RB Leipzig
2017/18 Bayern Munich Schalke 04
2018/19 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2019/20 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2020/21 Bayern Munich RB Leipzig
2021/22 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund
2022/23 Bayern Munich Borussia Dortmund

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Must See

More in Soccer