Connect with us


What is Warriors’ record in Game 7s? A look back at Golden State’s do-or-die history in NBA Playoffs

For the 11th time in franchise history, the Warriors will take the floor in a Game 7.

This time around, their opponent will be the Kings, who secured a commanding road victory in Game 6 to send the series back to Sacramento. The winner of Game 7 will move on to face LeBron James and the Lakers in the Western Conference Semifinals.

Golden State is no stranger to do-or-die situations. Since 2015, the team has played in three Game 7s, winning two and losing one. Stephen Curry and Co. certainly have the edge over the Kings in terms of playoff experience.

Here’s a look back at every Game 7 in Warriors history ahead of the winner-take-all battle this Sunday.

MORE: A full history of NBA Game 7s ahead of Warriors vs. Kings

Warriors Game 7 history

All-time record: 5-5

1948: Philadelphia Warriors 85, St. Louis Bombers 46

Decades before Curry arrived on the scene, the Philadelphia Warriors were taking on the St. Louis Bombers in the 1948 Basketball Association of America Playoffs.

Led by 15 points from forward Joe Fulks, the Warriors secured a blowout 85-46 win to advance to the BAA Finals. They then lost to the Baltimore Bullets in six games.

1962: Boston Celtics 109, Philadelphia Warriors 107

Before they made the move to California, the Warriors found themselves locked in a battle with the Celtics in the Eastern Division Finals. The series was a clash of the titans between Philadelphia’s Wilt Chamberlain and Boston’s Bill Russell.

In the 1962 playoffs, Chamberlain was at the height of his powers. Weeks before the series against Boston began, he had dropped 100 points against the Knicks in the greatest single-game scoring performance in NBA history.

On the other side, Russell was in his sixth NBA season and already had four championships under his belt. The Celtics were undoubtedly the team to beat.

Game 7 came down to the wire. Boston’s Sam Jones drained a series-winning shot with two seconds remaining to lift the Celtics to victory. They went on to win their fourth of eight consecutive NBA championships.

1964: San Francisco Warriors 105, St. Louis Hawks 95

In their second season in San Francisco, the Warriors advanced to the Western Division Finals against the St. Louis Hawks.

Chamberlain once again carried the Warriors, dropping 50 points in Game 5 to give his team a 3-2 series lead. Led by Bob Pettit, the Hawks managed to secure a win in the following game to stay alive. That set up a decisive Game 7, which San Francisco won thanks to 39 points and 30 rebounds from Chamberlain.

The Warriors moved on to face a familiar foe in the Celtics. Chamberlain led the team in points in every game that series, but he was powerless to stop Russell and the Celtics as they claimed yet another title.

1975: Golden State Warriors 83, Chicago Bulls 79

In 1971, the San Francisco Warriors became the Golden State Warriors. Their first Game 7 under the new name came in the 1975 Western Conference Finals against the Bulls.

Golden State was led by star forward Rick Barry. He scored 38 points in Game 1 to give the Warriors a 1-0 series lead, but the Bulls bounced back with two straight wins to go up 2-1.

When the Bulls won Game 5, it forced the Warriors to win the next two games in order to advance. They did just that, stealing Game 6 on the road and then securing a win in Game 7 at home to move on to the NBA Finals.

They swept the Washington Bullets to win their third NBA title. Barry was named NBA Finals MVP after averaging 29.5 points per game.

1976: Phoenix Suns 94, Golden State Warriors 86

Barry and Co. were back in the Western Conference Finals the following year, this time against the underdog Suns. The two teams alternated wins for the first five games before Phoenix got a narrow one-point victory in Game 6 to keep its season alive.

In Game 7, the Suns rallied back from a six-point halftime deficit to pull off the upset and advance to the NBA Finals. They went on to lose to the Celtics.

1977: Los Angeles Lakers 97, Golden State Warriors 84

For the third straight year, Barry and the Warriors faced a Game 7. This time, it was in the Western Conference Semifinals against Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and the Lakers.

The Lakers won Games 1 and 2 to take a commanding 2-0 series lead, but Warriors wins in Games 3 and 4 leveled the series at 2-2. After Golden State won Game 6 to keep its season alive, Abdul-Jabbar put up 36 points and 26 rebounds in Game 7 to send the Lakers to the Western Conference Finals.

2014: Los Angeles Clippers 126, Golden State Warriors 121

In 2014, the Warriors faced Chris Paul, Blake Griffin and the Clippers in the first round.

After a win in Game 1, they lost the next two games. The teams alternated wins over the next two games before a narrow one-point win for Golden State in Game 6 forced a Game 7 in Los Angeles.

Curry dropped 33 points, but the Clippers hit big shot after big shot down the stretch to get the win and move on.

2016: Golden State Warriors 96, Oklahoma City Thunder 88

One year after the “Splash Brothers” claimed their first NBA title, they were back for more. They breezed past the Rockets and Trail Blazers on their way to the Western Conference Finals.

After losses to Oklahoma City in Games 3 and 4, Golden State was facing a 3-1 deficit. But after a win in Game 5, the legend of “Game 6 Klay” Thompson was born. He dropped 41 points to send the series to Game 7.

Curry dropped 36 points in a thrilling Game 7 win to complete an epic comeback.

2016: Cleveland Cavaliers 93, Golden State Warriors 89

The Warriors’ reward for a Game 7 win over the Thunder? A date with LeBron James and the Cavaliers in the NBA Finals.

The Warriors comfortably won Games 1 and 2 to take a 2-0 series lead. The Cavs got a victory in Game 3, but Curry dropped 38 points in Game 4 to put Golden State up 3-1.

Then, James engineered one of the greatest comebacks in NBA Playoff history. James and Kyrie Irving both scored 41 points in Game 5 to stave off elimination. James dropped 41 points again in Game 6 to force a winner-take-all Game 7.

In a thrilling back-and-forth battle, James got an iconic block on Andre Iguodala with less than two minutes remaining before Irving buried a cold-blooded 3-pointer. Cleveland managed to close out the win to earn its first championship in franchise history.

2018: Golden State Warriors 101, Houston Rockets 92

The last time we saw Golden State in a Game 7 was in the 2018 Western Conference Finals against Houston.

In a memorable series, James Harden and the Rockets surged out to a 3-2 lead after narrow wins in Games 4 and 5. Facing a must-win situation at home, “Game 6 Klay” put on another show, leading all scorers with 35 points.

Houston got off to a great start at home in Game 7, leading by as many as 15 points in the first half. But the Warriors dug deep and pulled out a gutsy win thanks to 34 points by Kevin Durant.

They ended up sweeping Cleveland to earn their third title in four years.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement here

Must See

More in Basketball